This Workout Will Kick Your Ass.

Yes, I mean you.

I have just returned from San Jose and we’ll suffice it to say that staying with Sal’s parents for 8 days was a test of ye olde’ nutrition plan. I went into damage control mode and focused on portions, not content. What are you going to do when you have this 4 foot tall woman smiling you and speaking to you in Sicilian, telling you how happy she is that you are finally home so she can feed you.

Sometimes you have to live, people. And that’s that.

Despite the challenge (what could be considered a setback) I think I did a pretty decent job of keeping the wreckage to a minimum. I put in four decent workouts which are no match for boot camp but at least kept my “suffering threshold” high.

I thought I’d share my workouts because they’re the kind of thing that you can do almost anywhere. I did one heavy-weight workout and focused on my upper body. I did this mostly because I don’t get to do it very often so I figured I’d take the break from boot camp to enjoy something I’ve had to back off from.

Other than that, I did the following super basic ass-kicker of a workout after consulting with Daniel about how best to simulate boot camp pain on my own.

Choose 4-5 of the following exercises:

  • 20 burpees
  • 20 pushups
  • 20 squats (hands overhead)
  • 1minute plank
  • 20 v-ups
  • 1 minute side plank
  • 2 minute jump rope
  • 1 minute handstand hold against the wall
  • 1 minute gymnastic bridge
  • 20 lunges (with dumbbells if you want to make it harder)
  • 20 thrusters with dumbbells

Now do these 4 or 5 exercises consecutively, which will be one “round”. Do 4-5 rounds with 1 minute rest between each round. No rest between one set of exercises to the next… just between completed rounds.

This is simple stuff, people. This is simple suffering.

It doesn’t sound that hard when you read it written here but when I got into the gym and started in, I was drenched in sweat by the second round. In fact, I’d planned to go 5 rounds but only made it four. A super-ripped workout chick was standing next to me the whole time looking at my like I was a complete and utter dumbass.

I know what she was thinking: “Burpees!?”

Yeah, well, I’ll have you know that I would have traded her workouts in a heartbeat. I wore my HR monitor for these workouts and found that I was well into my upper range (165-170bpm) by the second or third activity in each set which means I was not only building muscle, I was also burning fat.

If you don’t know what some of the things listed above are, just drop me a comment. If I don’t respond fast enough just skip those ones and pick the ones you DO know. Give it a shot. Don’t cheat. No resting in between activities and no longer than one minute between rounds. You want to recover but not completely, keeping your average HR up a bit throughout the workout will maximize your results.

These workouts reminded me of something fundamental and important. Fitness isn’t rocket science. It’s dedication, drive, and pushing yourself. It’s asking yourself to go a little further every time. To fight through the burn and stay with it because you know you can. To do something like this workout, which can be so “in-the-moment-miserable” (and which, frankly, isn’t very sexy as warranted by my stink-eye weight-lifting observer), you must remind yourself again and again why you want it and what it means to you.

Keep it simple. Stay focused. Do burpees. ;)

*

4 Comments

Filed under boot_camp, health, motivation, training, wellness

4 responses to “This Workout Will Kick Your Ass.

  1. sherry

    Thank you for being an inspiration to me Heidi.

    I am going to push myself –
    there is no simple suffering in my world.
    my suffering is complex and agonizing.
    Pain, you and I will soon be friends.

    p.s. I just Googled “burpee” ;)

  2. NICE! I’m going to start with SOME of these. I’m hitting the gym for the first time in a long time this week. I like simple….this workout looks painfully simple. Pain will be a good thing.

    I just burpeed. Excuse me.

  3. Vicki Hartmann

    Wow, Heidi! I had no idea. How do I find a bod pod to do my own measurements (maybe I don’t really want to if it’s going to be higher than calipers)
    Vicki (a fellow bootcamper)

  4. Pingback: How to Blast Fat Off Your Body in Record Time | Grit & Glimmer

Leave a Reply

