Stranded on Marketing Seminar Island: How Sad am I!?

It’s true.

I’m stuck at a marketing seminar in LA through Sunday.

Do you realize what this means? Do you realize that I am separated from my bike during ‘cross season? Do you realize that I am actually going to miss a cyclocross race? DO YOU KNOW HOW SAD THIS MAKE ME?

Ok, let’s assume you do. Now, add to that the fact that this Sunday’s cyclocross course is supposed to be a mud fest.

Still not choking up the pity for me? (You stingy bastard.)

Ok, let’s add to that the fact that this marketing seminar runs from 8:00am until 11:00pm every single day. You did not mis-read that sentence. I did, in fact, say 11pm.

Yes. Yes, I do want to jump out the hotel window, thank you.

Speaking of the hotel. Because each of the meal breaks is only 1 our and 15 minutes long, and I am stranded in the Westin LAX, my nutriton plan has been moderately compromised.

Sure, the client that is sponsoring me at (and invited me to) this event is buying me meals in the restaurant, and the meal are actually (surprisingly) quite healthy, filled with good protein sources and fresh green vegetables. But, dude. These people expect me to be able to go 5 hours inbetween meals.

That is stupid!

Of course, I made a little jog over to the only remotely viable food source within three miles (the Circle K) and stocked up on almonds and protein bars, so I’m able to feed my little body while listening to presenters after the be-witching three-hour mark has come. Then at meal-times I hit the buffet and steal apples to satiate my need for sugars, carbs, and fiber.

I really am stealing them. As in, carrying a big purse and stocking up. I do not feel guilty in the least.

The only saving grace here is that the workout room in this hotel kills – free weights for grueling upper body sessions, treadmills with televisions for mile intervals run at a fast clip, and an open area for the ass-kicking tabata exercises that I love to hate – like burpees, mountain climbers, thrusters*, and more.

What’s the lesson here?

PLAN!

I should have packed protein shake producing materials. A simple Shaker and a few travel packets of Jay Robb would have made my life a hell of a lot easier for this trip. Like they say, proper planning prevents poor performance! Plan, people, plan! Plan as you’ve never planned before!

*From AlexanderBecker.net :
The thruster is one of the greatest lifts no one has ever heard of in the gym. Take two dumbbells and hold them at shoulder height. Squat down, keeping the dumbbells on the shoulders. As you rise up, press the bells to the overhead lockout position. You can either press as you rise or use the momentum to help “kick” the bells overhead. I find that I do a little bit of both in the four minutes.

Thrusters do things to your heart rate and breathing that I honestly can’t describe. Go light! A 35 pound dumbbell in each hand is a very difficult thruster workout! Check your ego at the door for the first two minutes.

2 Comments

Filed under cycling, cyclocross, dealing, fitness, training, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Stranded on Marketing Seminar Island: How Sad am I!?

  1. I just squeezed out a couple of tears for you. And I don’t know about Portland, but it’s been raining like crazy for days down here. So I agree; it should be a total mud-fest. And we’ll miss you! (a couple more tears just popped out).

  2. Sherry

    ” proper planning prevents poor performance!”

    I’m making cookies right now. It’s becoming a Race Eve tradition for me. Since they seem to be a big hit…I’m making a double batch this time.

    I’ll save one for you, and we’ll go drink an Italian warmer when you get back.

    MISS YOU!!!!!

Leave a Reply

